Lee White, Executive Director  Email or (202)544-2422 x116

Executive Committee
  • Alan Kraut (President) Organization of American Historians
  • James Grossman (Vice President) American Historical Association
  • Matthew Connelly (Secretary) Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations
  • Dana Schaffer (Treasurer) American Historical Association


  • American Association for State and Local History—John Dichtl
  • American Council of Learned Societies—James Shulman
  • American Political Science Association—Abby Paulson
  • HISTORY™—Kim Gilmore
  • National Council on Public History—Stephanie Rowe
  • Society of American Archivists—Nancy Beaumont
  • Southern Historical Association—K. Stephen Prince
Rotating Members of the Board (term ending)
  • Society for History in the Federal Government—Vacant (2020)
  • Society for Military History—C.C. Felker (2020)
  • National Council for the Social Studies—Lawrence Paska (2021)
  • National Council for History Education—Luis Fernandez-Martinez (2021)

Note: Terms of the Executive Committee and Rotating Members expire at the end of NCH’s Annual Board meeting held each January. NCH’s Board has four rotating slots, two of which expire each year.