2008 Preserve America Presidential Awards Announced

This week, First Lady Laura Bush announced and presented the 2008 Preserve America Presidential Awards at a White House ceremony. The First Lady also serves as the Honorary Chair of Preserve America, which is an Administration initiative that encourages community efforts to preserve the Nation’s cultural and natural heritage. This is the highest national award for historic preservation achievement.

The winners are the following: African Burial Ground Project, New York, New York; Corinth and Alcorn County Mississippi Heritage Tourism Initiative; Lower East Side Tenement Museum, New York, New York; and Texas Historic Courthouse Preservation Program.