Senate Confirms Chairman of Advisory Council on Historic Preservation

On June 27, 2019, the US Senate confirmed Aimee Jorjani as chairman of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation. Ms. Jorjani is the first full-time chairman of the agency, which, among other duties, advises the President and Congress on national historic preservation policy. Ms. Jorjani will succeed Chairman Milford Wayne Donaldson.

Ms. Jorjani will complete the four-year term that began in January 2017. The full-time chairman position was created through the December 2016 enactment of the National Park Service Centennial Act, which contained amendments to the National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA) converting the current part-time chairman to a full-time position.